Ohio Health Informatics Degree Programs

2027 Best Health Informatics Degree Programs in Ohio

Health informatics is a growing field, and Ohio offers many excellent degree programs. We at healthinformaticsdegree.org have ranked the best health informatics degree programs in Ohio to help students choose the right path. Our list includes programs with strong coursework, supportive faculty, and great career outcomes. Each program was judged on important factors like online options, hands-on training, and overall value. The rankings come from careful analysis of program quality, cost, and student success. Whether you are looking for a bachelor's or master's degree, these rankings are a helpful guide. For a full explanation of how we created these rankings, see our methodology page: https://www.healthinformaticsdegree.org/about-us/#rankings
#1

Case Western Reserve University

Cleveland, OH - Private 4-year - case.edu

Master's - Master of Science in Biomedical and Health Informatics

Campus Based - Visit Website

The Master of Science in Biomedical and Health Informatics at Case Western Reserve University is a 30-credit program completed in 16 months full-time, with an intensive 11-month non-thesis option. The interdisciplinary curriculum spans data analytics, biomedical and clinical research, and computational systems design, with faculty from medicine, management, and engineering. Students analyze EHR data, design quality improvement studies, and work with large genomic datasets. Choose between a thesis track for PhD preparation or a practicum-based non-thesis track. Part-time study is available. Graduates pursue careers in clinical informatics, healthcare analytics, and biomedical research. Entrance exam requirements are not specified in the program description.

  • 16-Month program
  • 30 total credit hours
  • Full-time and part-time options
  • Thesis or capstone option
  • Analyze patient diagnoses and outcomes from EHRs
  • Design or manage clinical studies for quality improvement
  • Collaborate in biomedical research with large datasets
  • Encompasses biomedical and clinical care informatics
  • Applications to precision medicine and accountable care
  • Cross-disciplinary faculty from medicine, management, engineering

Master's - Master of Science in Biomedical and Health Informatics (Biomedical and Health)

Campus Based - Visit Website

The MS in Biomedical and Health Informatics at Case Western Reserve University with a Biomedical and Health concentration prepares students to apply data science to clinical and biomedical challenges. The 30-credit program offers a 16-month full-time path or an intensive 11-month non-thesis option, plus part-time study. Core courses include data structures, AI in medicine, and statistical methods, with domain electives in biomedical health and data analytics. Students can select a thesis track for PhD continuation or a practicum track for hands-on experience. The interdisciplinary faculty come from medicine, management, and engineering. Graduates analyze EHR data, design clinical studies, and work on precision medicine initiatives. A combined BS/MS option is available for current undergraduates. Entrance exam requirements are not specified.

  • 16-Month program
  • Complete in 11 months
  • 30 total credit hours
  • Full-time and part-time options
  • Thesis or capstone option
  • Cross-disciplinary faculty from multiple schools
  • Combined Bachelor's/Master's option available
  • Core competencies: data analytics, biomedical research, computational design
  • Prepares for careers analyzing EHR data
  • Thesis option prepares for PhD study

Master's - Master of Science in Biomedical and Health Informatics (Computation and System Design)

Campus Based - Visit Website

The Computation and System Design concentration of Case Western Reserve University's MS in Biomedical and Health Informatics bridges computer science and healthcare. Coursework covers Analysis of Algorithms, Database Systems, Software Engineering, Bioinformatics, and Machine Learning & Data Mining, alongside core training in Python, AI in Medicine, and statistics. The 30-credit program can be completed in an intensive 11-month non-thesis format or the standard 16-month full-time path, with part-time options. Faculty from the School of Medicine, Case School of Engineering, and Weatherhead School of Management provide a cross-disciplinary perspective. Students choose between a thesis track for PhD preparation and a non-thesis track with a practicum. Graduates pursue roles in clinical informatics, health data science, and systems design. Entrance exam requirements are not specified.

  • 3 concentration options
  • Complete in as few as 11 months intensively, or 16 months full-time
  • 30 total credit hours
  • Full-time and part-time options
  • Thesis or capstone option
  • Thesis or non-thesis track available
  • Complete non-thesis track in 11 months
  • Covers AI, machine learning, and bioinformatics
  • Faculty from Medicine, Engineering, and Management
  • Prepares for careers in clinical and research informatics

Master's - Master of Science in Biomedical and Health Informatics (Data Analytics)

Campus Based - Visit Website

The Data Analytics concentration of Case Western Reserve University's MS in Biomedical and Health Informatics focuses on transforming healthcare through data. Core competencies include data analytics, biomedical research, and computational design. Students select from a thesis track or an intensive 11-month non-thesis path, with the standard 16-month full-time option and part-time enrollment available. The interdisciplinary faculty from medicine, management, and engineering prepare graduates to analyze electronic health records, manage clinical studies, and collaborate on omics research. The curriculum supports careers in clinical informatics, accountable care organizations, and precision medicine. A combined Bachelor's/Master's pathway provides additional flexibility. Entrance exam requirements are not specified in the program description.

  • 3 concentration options
  • 16-Month program
  • Complete in as few as 11 months
  • 30 total credit hours
  • Full-time and part-time options
  • Thesis or capstone option
  • Cross-disciplinary faculty from medicine, management, engineering
  • Thesis and non-thesis options
  • Part-time enrollment welcome
  • Combined Bachelor's/Master's program

Doctorate - Biomedical and Health Informatics

Campus Based - Visit Website

The PhD in Biomedical and Health Informatics at Case Western Reserve University is a full-time, research-intensive program requiring 54 credit hours, including core courses in statistics, AI, and ethics, plus a dissertation. Students engage in three core themes: data analytics, biomedical research, and computing/data science, with a strong emphasis on artificial intelligence. The program is affiliated with Cleveland Clinic, University Hospitals, MetroHealth, and the VA, offering rich clinical data resources. Graduates pursue careers in academia, industry, healthcare, and government. First-year students receive full funding covering tuition, stipend, and health insurance. Institutional support is available. Entrance exam requirements are not specified for this doctoral program.

  • 3 concentration options
  • 54 total credit hours
  • Full-time enrollment
  • Thesis required
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • Three themes: Data Analytics, Biomedical research, Computing and Data Science
  • Full-time, research-oriented program
  • Careers in industry, academia, health care, and government
  • Focus on dynamic Artificial Intelligence research
Show 4 More Programs ˅
#2

University of Cincinnati

Cincinnati, OH - Public 4-Year - uc.edu

Bachelor's - Bachelor of Science in Health Informatics

Online Learning - Visit Website

The University of Cincinnati's online Bachelor of Science in Health Informatics integrates healthcare, IT, and data science in a flexible 3-year (9-semester) format. The curriculum emphasizes health information systems, data analytics, cybersecurity, and leadership, culminating in a capstone and professional practicum that provides real-world experience. CAHIIM accreditation candidacy ensures curriculum quality. Students benefit from low student-faculty ratios, personalized mentorship, and a dedicated support team from application through graduation. The program offers multiple start dates (fall/spring), generous financial aid and scholarships, and easy credit transfer. It's 100% online—no campus visits required. Published admission criteria do not list ACT or SAT test requirements, focusing instead on academic records and prior experience. Graduates are prepared for roles like health informatics specialist, clinical data analyst, or health IT project manager.

  • CAHIIM accredited
  • 3-Year program
  • Complete in 9 semesters (3 years)
  • Apply by 2026-07-15
  • 2 start dates per year
  • Starts fall/spring
  • Capstone required
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • Professional practicum offers real-world experience

Master's - Master of Health Informatics

Online Learning - Visit Website

The University of Cincinnati's online Master of Health Informatics (MHI) prepares graduates to lead at the intersection of healthcare and technology. This CAHIIM-accredited, 33-credit-hour program covers data management, analytics, AI, cybersecurity, project management, and leadership—all grounded in CAHIIM competencies. No prior healthcare or IT experience is required, and no entrance exam (such as the GRE) is needed for admission. Students complete a hands-on practicum and can pursue optional certificates in Health Data Science and AI or Health Information Security, thanks to UC's HIMSS Approved Education Partner status. Designed for working professionals, the part-time curriculum can be completed in as little as two years (24–28 months average). Graduates pursue roles like systems analyst, data analyst, IT coordinator, and project manager in hospitals, pharmaceutical firms, and government agencies. A minimum 3.0 GPA and two letters of recommendation are required.

  • CAHIIM accredited
  • No entrance exam required
  • 2-Year program
  • Complete in as little as two years
  • 33 total credit hours
  • Part-time available
  • 85% job placement rate
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • 2 letters of recommendation (minimum)
  • Capstone required
Show 1 More Programs ˅
#3

Kent State University

Kent, OH - Public 4-Year - kent.edu

Master's - Master of Science in Health Informatics

Online Learning - Visit Website

Kent State University’s Master of Science in Health Informatics is a 100% online, CAHIIM-accredited program that blends healthcare, information science, and technology. The 36-credit curriculum covers health informatics management, legal issues, clinical analytics, and usability, with core focus areas in information systems, informatics, and IT. Designed for working professionals, the degree can be completed in as little as 24 months with three annual start dates. Multiple capstone options include an internship, project, research paper, or thesis. Tuition totals $29,800 ($829 per credit), and graduates are prepared for roles such as health informatics specialist, data analyst, or healthcare IT manager. Applicants need a 2.8 GPA and two letters of recommendation; no standardized entrance exam is specified.

  • Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education (CAHIIM) accredited
  • $29,800 total program tuition
  • $829 per credit
  • 24-Month program
  • 36 total credit hours
  • 3 start dates per year
  • Starts spring/summer/fall
  • 2.8 GPA minimum
  • 2 letters of recommendation (minimum)
  • Thesis or capstone option
#4

Mount Vernon Nazarene University

Mount Vernon, OH - Private 4-year - mvnu.edu

Master's - Master of Science in Management (Healthcare Informatics)

Online Learning - Visit Website

Mount Vernon Nazarene University offers a STEM-designated Master of Science in Management with a Healthcare Informatics concentration, delivered entirely online. The 31-credit program prepares students for leadership roles in healthcare technology, covering cloud computing, data science, and informatics with AWS Academy-aligned curriculum. Coursework includes legal issues in digital medicine and collaborative data science. Graduates pursue careers as health information managers, clinical data analysts, or health IT directors, with salaries ranging from $67,000 to $140,000. The program takes 20 months and includes an in-seat residency. Textbooks are included at no extra cost, and automatic scholarships of up to $125 per credit reduce total tuition to approximately $16,440 from $20,190. This military-friendly program, affiliated with the Church of the Nazarene, also offers financial aid and six concentration options.

  • 6 concentration options
  • $20,190 total program tuition
  • $623 per credit
  • 20-Month program
  • 31 total credit hours
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • Curriculum enriched by AWS Academy
  • Aligned to AWS Certification
  • Employment readiness focus
#5

Franklin University

Columbus, OH - Private 4-year - franklin.edu

Master's - M.S. in Health Informatics

Online Learning - Visit Website

Franklin University’s online M.S. in Health Informatics is a 12-month, 32-credit-hour program for professionals leading data-driven healthcare change. Coursework covers data analytics, database management, data visualization, health information governance, clinical workflow optimization, and big data mining. Optional focus areas include healthcare administration or policy. A capstone addresses a real healthcare issue. The program is test-optional, requiring no entrance exam, and features an embedded graduate certificate in data analytics. Graduates can pursue roles like health informatics manager or clinical informatics specialist, and certifications such as CHDA, CPHIMS, or CHPS. With locked tuition at $21,440, transfer credits, and 100% online coursework, this non-profit program offers flexibility and career advancement.

  • No entrance exam required
  • Test optional
  • $21,440 total program tuition
  • $690 per credit
  • 12-Month program
  • Locked tuition rate
  • 32 total credit hours
  • 8 total courses
  • 2.5 GPA minimum
  • Capstone required
#6

The University of Findlay

Findlay, OH - Private 4-year - findlay.edu

Master's - Master of Science in Health Informatics

Online & Campus Based - Visit Website

The University of Findlay's Master of Science in Health Informatics integrates health data analytics, information systems, and project management to prepare students for in-demand careers. The curriculum focuses on converting data into actionable insights for healthcare delivery and patient outcomes. Hands-on projects with local healthcare organizations help build a professional portfolio and network, while leadership and professional skill development are woven throughout. Offered online, hybrid, or on-campus, courses run in eight-week blocks with fall, spring, and summer starts. The 33-credit program can be completed in two years, with a graduate certificate option available. Graduates become health data analysts, clinical informatics specialists, or healthcare IT leaders. Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Entrance exam requirements are not specified.

  • 2-Year program
  • Complete in in just two years
  • 33 total credit hours
  • 3 start dates per year
  • Starts fall/spring/summer
  • Financial aid available
  • Scholarships available
  • 100% Online or Hybrid Format
  • Eight-week course blocks
  • Healthcare community partnerships
#7

Kent State University at Stark

North Canton, OH - Public 4-Year - kent.edu

Master's - Health Informatics

Online Learning - Visit Website

Kent State University's Master of Science in Health Informatics is a fully online, CAHIIM-accredited program—the only one of its kind in Northeast Ohio. The 36-credit curriculum covers information systems, clinical analytics, legal issues, and human factors, with elective pathways toward dual degrees in M.P.H. Epidemiology or M.S. Clinical Epidemiology. Courses run in 7-week terms with three annual start dates, ideal for working professionals. Faculty include award-winning researchers and industry veterans. Students choose a thesis, capstone project, or internship. Admission requires a 2.8 GPA and two recommendation letters; no GRE is needed. Graduates can pursue positions like Clinical Informatics Director, with projected 28% job growth, and may sit for the Certified Associate in Health Information Systems exam.

  • CAHIIM accredited
  • 36 total credit hours
  • 3 start dates per year
  • Starts fall/spring/summer
  • 2.8 GPA minimum
  • 2 letters of recommendation (minimum)
  • Thesis or capstone option
  • Award-winning health informatics faculty
  • Northeast Ohio's only CAHIIM accredited program
  • Fully online delivery
*Reference: National Center for Education Statistics, IPEDS 2025 data system.

List of Ohio Colleges With Health Informatics Degree Programs

Here is a list of Ohio colleges offering health informatics degree programs. Each school's city and state location is included, along with program highlights and direct links to the program pages. These programs vary in focus and format, so take time to review each one. Use this table to compare options and find the right fit for your education and career goals. Explore what these programs offer and take the next step toward a rewarding role in health informatics.
Jump to City:

Cincinnati, OH

University of Cincinnati

  • Bachelor's - Bachelor of Science in Health Informatics

    Online Learning - Website

    • CAHIIM accredited
    • 3-Year program
    • Complete in 9 semesters (3 years)
    • Apply by 2026-07-15
    • 2 start dates per year
    • Starts fall/spring
    • Capstone required
    • Financial aid available
  • Master's - Master of Health Informatics

    Online Learning - Website

    • CAHIIM accredited
    • No entrance exam required
    • 2-Year program
    • Complete in as little as two years
    • 33 total credit hours
    • Part-time available
    • 85% job placement rate
    • 3.0 GPA minimum

Cleveland, OH

Case Western Reserve University

  • Master's - Master of Science in Biomedical and Health Informatics

    Campus Based - Website

    • 16-Month program
    • 30 total credit hours
    • Full-time and part-time options
    • Thesis or capstone option
    • Analyze patient diagnoses and outcomes from EHRs
    • Design or manage clinical studies for quality improvement
    • Collaborate in biomedical research with large datasets
    • Encompasses biomedical and clinical care informatics
  • Master's - Master of Science in Biomedical and Health Informatics

    Concentration: Biomedical and Health - Campus Based - Website

    • 16-Month program
    • Complete in 11 months
    • 30 total credit hours
    • Full-time and part-time options
    • Thesis or capstone option
    • Cross-disciplinary faculty from multiple schools
    • Combined Bachelor's/Master's option available
    • Core competencies: data analytics, biomedical research, computational design
  • Master's - Master of Science in Biomedical and Health Informatics

    Concentration: Computation and System Design - Campus Based - Website

    • 3 concentration options
    • Complete in as few as 11 months intensively, or 16 months full-time
    • 30 total credit hours
    • Full-time and part-time options
    • Thesis or capstone option
    • Thesis or non-thesis track available
    • Complete non-thesis track in 11 months
    • Covers AI, machine learning, and bioinformatics
  • Master's - Master of Science in Biomedical and Health Informatics

    Concentration: Data Analytics - Campus Based - Website

    • 3 concentration options
    • 16-Month program
    • Complete in as few as 11 months
    • 30 total credit hours
    • Full-time and part-time options
    • Thesis or capstone option
    • Cross-disciplinary faculty from medicine, management, engineering
    • Thesis and non-thesis options
  • Doctorate - Biomedical and Health Informatics

    Campus Based - Website

    • 3 concentration options
    • 54 total credit hours
    • Full-time enrollment
    • Thesis required
    • Financial aid available
    • Scholarships available
    • Three themes: Data Analytics, Biomedical research, Computing and Data Science
    • Full-time, research-oriented program

Columbus, OH

Franklin University

  • Master's - M.S. in Health Informatics

    Online Learning - Website

    • No entrance exam required
    • Test optional
    • $21,440 total program tuition
    • $690 per credit
    • 12-Month program
    • Locked tuition rate
    • 32 total credit hours
    • 8 total courses

Findlay, OH

The University of Findlay

  • Master's - Master of Science in Health Informatics

    Online & Campus Based - Website

    • 2-Year program
    • Complete in in just two years
    • 33 total credit hours
    • 3 start dates per year
    • Starts fall/spring/summer
    • Financial aid available
    • Scholarships available
    • 100% Online or Hybrid Format

Kent, OH

Kent State University

  • Master's - Master of Science in Health Informatics

    Online Learning - Website

    • Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education (CAHIIM) accredited
    • $29,800 total program tuition
    • $829 per credit
    • 24-Month program
    • 36 total credit hours
    • 3 start dates per year
    • Starts spring/summer/fall
    • 2.8 GPA minimum

Mount Vernon, OH

Mount Vernon Nazarene University

  • Master's - Master of Science in Management

    Concentration: Healthcare Informatics - Online Learning - Website

    • 6 concentration options
    • $20,190 total program tuition
    • $623 per credit
    • 20-Month program
    • 31 total credit hours
    • Financial aid available
    • Scholarships available
    • Curriculum enriched by AWS Academy

North Canton, OH

Kent State University at Stark

  • Master's - Health Informatics

    Online Learning - Website

    • CAHIIM accredited
    • 36 total credit hours
    • 3 start dates per year
    • Starts fall/spring/summer
    • 2.8 GPA minimum
    • 2 letters of recommendation (minimum)
    • Thesis or capstone option
    • Award-winning health informatics faculty
*Information sourced from the NCES Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (2025).